songforanewday

Knowing You, Meeting Me

God’s Appointment Cards

on July 29, 2013

I know, I know, I’ve been absent again. I’ve spent the majority of my summer being sick and taking antibiotics. Ick and yuck. I don’t know that I’m going to use my usual two or three verses in today’s post. To be honest, I don’t know if I’m going to use any. As you’ll see, they likely won’t be needed. Believe me, the point will be as clear for you as it was for me.

Today, I was at a doctor’s appointment, though (for once) not for myself. I was taking my son, Zachary, to his first appointment with his new neurologist. We showed up at 2:30 – right on time. We sat down to an empty waiting room and waited. We watched as this new doctor came in and out taking patients that walked in and registered after we had. I was, admittedly, indigent. I texted my best friend about the lesson God probably had for me to learn about waiting. Trust me when I say, I had no idea.

“The nerve of this guy!” I thought. “Just watch, he’s probably prophetic”, I texted, “he’s gonna say something the moment I walk back there and IMMEDIATELY I’m gonna know it’s from God”. I was half joking, but I had no idea how right I was. I kept texting and waiting and just as my bff had to go, a full 50 minutes later at 3:20, it was FINALLY our turn. I had so many thoughts running through my head. This is where my doctor is, so I knew I didn’t want to change all my family’s care, but I had a few words that I wanted to have with this new guy on professionalism…

…that is until…

“Hi…I understand you were here early…”

*heart dropped* “Oh….I guess I had the time wrong”

How many times are we like that? We show up early to a promise God has for us and then wonder where He is. We wonder if we got it wrong. We wonder if He lied. We wonder if He’s playing with us or if we missed it. We wonder. We get angry. We get annoyed. We get frustrated and upset. We sit in the waiting room and we text our bffs and we wait and we cry and we come up with things to say all the while, we got the appointment time wrong. It wasn’t the appointed time. I know that I know that I know I’ve done that!

(I guess I will use a verse after all)

2 Peter 3:9a The Lord is not slow about His promise

Now, I recognize that that’s not exactly how that verse may have originally been intended to be interpreted in that context, but the truth is nonetheless the same. One of my favorite songs right now is Sanctus Real – Promises, chorus simply “Hold on to the promises, Hold on to the promises, Jesus is alive so hold tight, Hold on to the promises”

I know that it can be exhausting to hold on to a word from God when what you see in front of you is….less than the word from the Lord. My son wants be a pastor, “just like Pastor T!!” My son has autism and a significant language delay. My son has a word over his life that there is something he has to say that is going to rock enemy territory…which is why his words have been stolen (and, likely why when I try to type this, my computer tries to delete it).  It’s hard to think of the future when he can’t even tell me about his day. But, it’s not time yet. I can’t get angry when we’ve shown up too early. What I can do is trust that when it is time, the Physician will show up on time ready, willing and able to meet my need and fulfill His promises.

The same is true for you. Just make sure you double check your appointment card.

 


Leave a comment